h1

You: Create – really simple, but very functional

September 16, 2010

Here it is Thursday already! Time for my entry to…

I am really trying to force myself to spend time being creative. One wouldn’t think that I should have to force myself to be creative! Getting started is what is hard. It felt so good to sit at the sewing machine! (Even though I was only there for about 5 minutes!)

What was I creating?

Something really simple, but very functional: A hanging bag for clothes pins.

A completed clothes pin bag made from a little kids shirt

I started with a little kids shirt (did they really used to fit something that small!?) I sewed together a portion of the front and then sewed the bottom of the shirt closed. Five minutes of sewing (including changing the thread color).

Then I had to hunt for a wooden hanger. I noticed that I needed to saw a bit off the ends of the hanger because it was too long in the sleeves.

The wooden hanger is too long for my clothes pin bag - it peeks out of the sleeves of my little kids shirt.

So I got out the saw – which required some more hunting! See that cobweb on the blade?

Sawing off the ends of a wooden hanger

Next, I stuffed her full of clothes pins and tried her out!

The completed clothes pin bag hanging out with the laundry

Yeah! I no longer have to bend over to fetch a few pins! (And I am loving being able to hang out clothes at our new place!)

What were you creative at this week?

— Carol


Photo in header: From my archives, an iced over American Cranberry Bush Viburnum – our Creator gets creative.
Signature font from Gitzen Girl

4 comments

  1. Fantastic idea! Thanks for sharing.


  2. nice!! great idea 🙂


  3. Creative way to go green! Maybe this could be used in a closet for holding socks.


  4. Oh my gosh, that is the cutest clothes pin holder ever! What a hoot that it’s a shirt!



Leave a Reply

