h1

Christmas Sewing: Re-usable produce bags

December 17, 2010

Here is my entry this week to…

Button for You: Create

It has been a long time since I’ve gotten to the sewing machine. Too long. DTM (Doing Too Much).

But I had to make something to give as some little gifts! So I made some reusable produce bags.

A Re-useable produce bag filled with oranges

I got the idea from Melissa over at Proverbs 31 Life. (Thanks, Melissa!)

They didn’t take too long. Here’s the steps I took:

a mesh laundry bag

I started with some white mesh laundry bags

The mesh bag undergoes the rotary cutter!

I cut them up into various sizes

Sewing the bag shut on three sides

I sewed the bag shut on three sides


Fabric with corn on it - what else for a veggie bag!

I cut some strips of corn fabric (what else for a veggie bag!) Folded them over a couple of times...

Sewing on the corn fabric around the top of the bag

And I sewed the fabric around the top of the bag.

The completed bag (shown loaded with some fruit)

Then I used a safety pin to snake some cording into the top and installed a push-button cord stop. Ta-da! Done. Well with one, anyway.

It feels so good to create. Why don’t I do this more often?

— Carol


Photo in header: From my archives, an iced over American Cranberry Bush Viburnum – our Creator gets creative. Other photos also taken by moi.
Signature font from Gitzen Girl

2 comments

  1. What a lovely gift that keeps on giving. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m finding that gifts that i use over and over (especially if hand made) are reminders of the giver each and every time. Such a joy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I keep meaning to make mesh bags to carry my produce in (rather than use plastic) but i’ve not gotten around to making them yet.


  2. Produce seems to keep better when not is plastic (moisture gets trapped and causes decay.) Blog looks nice too.



Leave a Reply

